Linden Industrial Association

            The next meeting of the Association will be at the Meeting Room at the Hampton Inn @ Aviation Plaza, 501 West Edgar Road (Rt. 1 North & Stiles Street), Linden, New Jersey, at 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday, June 19, 2018.  Our Guest Speaker will be Nancy P. Sadlon, Public Affairs Manager, Phillips 66 Bayway Refinery, who will provide an update of its 2017-18 projects.


            Please note your diary and confirm your attendance by e-mail to, so that we may make the appropriate arrangements for breakfast.  You should plan to have a substitute attend on behalf of your company if you are not able to attend.


            See Minutes of May 15, 2018 Membership Meeting below.


Calendar of Events

June 19, 2018 (Sponsored by Phillips 66 Bayway Refinery)

September 18, 2018 (Sponsored by Lindabury, McCormick, Estabrook & Cooper, P.C.)

October 16, 2018 (Sponsored by Pennoni)

November 20, 2018 (Sponsored by Infineum USA L.P.)





Linden Industrial Association




            A regular meeting of the Linden Industrial Association was held on Tuesday, May 15, 2018, at 8 a.m. at the Hampton Inn @ Aviation Plaza, 501 West Edgar Road (Rt. 1 North & Stiles Street), Linden, NJ, pursuant to written notice thereof duly sent to all members in accordance with the provisions of the Bylaws of the Association.  The following were present:


            Mayor Derek Armstead                      City of Linden

            Andy Bachmann                                 Linden Warehouse & Distribution Co.

            Joe Barbanel                                        JREZ, LLC

            Chris Beriont                                       Pennoni

            Kathleen Burke                                   A&M Industrial

            Angel Cartagena                                 Batteries Plus Bulbs

            Rob Colman, Guest Speaker               U.S. DOL - OSHA

            Wayne Cromwell                                General Magnaplate

            James K. Estabrook, Esq.                   Secretary

            Gregory Grasso                                   Linden Board of Education

            John Griffiths                                      Epicor, Inc.

            Brandon Hering                                  Linden VFT

            Charles Hudson                                  Merck & Co., Inc.

            Thomas Kasper                                   Unity Bank

            June Lazaro                                         Primerica

            Alex Lospinoso                                   Linden Economic Development Corporation

            Richard Lulla                                      Mott MacDonald

            Edward Majeski                                  Linden Roselle Sewerage Authority

            Janet Miller                                         Cox Printers & Digital Media

            Jerry Prevete                                       Pennoni

            Nancy P. Sadlon                                 Phillips 66 Bayway Refinery

            Rebecca Tattoli                                   Office of the Mayor


Our special thanks to Brandon Hering and Linden VFT LLC for their continued support of the Linden Industrial Association in sponsoring today’s breakfast meeting. A motion was duly made and seconded to approve the Minutes of the Annual Meeting on April 19, 2018.  The motion was unanimously passed. 






President’s Report.  In the absence of President Lois Bass, 1st Vice President June Lazaro reported that Annual Meeting of the Linden Industrial Association was a success.  There were 63 individuals in attendance.  There was uniform agreement that Michael K. Kirk, Infineum USA L.P., was a deserving recipient of the LIA Business & Community Award for 2018.  Vice President Lazaro also acknowledged President Lois Bass for being honored by the Elizabeth Coalition for the Homeless and suggested that anyone who could attend should do so.  Vice President Lazaro extended warm welcomes to Tom Kasper of Unity Bank as a new member of the Association.


Program.  1st Vice President June Lazaro was pleased to introduce Rob Colman, U.S. Department of Labor, OSHA.  Attached hereto is the slide presentation presented by Mr. Colman for the benefit of the membership.  In short, Mr. Colman reminded the membership that OSHA covers both public and private sector employers.  Mr. Colman stated that OSHA’s new regulations require reporting for both a fatality and severe injury.  In the case of a fatality, it is required that it be reported within eight hours of its occurrence, and if there is a severe injury, that must be reported within 24 hours.  There is an 800 number that can be utilized for the report or it can be done on line.  OSHA now requires all submissions to be done electronically if the employer has 250 or more employees.  This would include all injury and illness records and reports.  OSHA is also working on a new regulation dealing with walking and working surfaces and a fall prevention rule for heights above 4 feet.


Environmental, Health & Safety.  Chairman Joe Barbanel stated that there were recent changes to the Toxic Substance Control Act (TSCA).  Federal EPA was moving from exposure base criteria to risk based evaluation of materials, so there will be further limitations on materials that can be used.  For instance, methylene chloride, commonly used in paint strippers, will be severely limited.  Co-Chairman Rich Lulla reported that EPA will not be enforcing its recently issued coolant regulations as they have come to the conclusion that it does not deplete the ozone layer.  EPA also stated it will not be proposing any new emission controls regarding the automobile industry or other industrial sectors.  Further, roof manufacturers have been informed that there is a delay in the regulations for up to one year for the utilization of formaldehyde in their products.  New Jersey DEP continues to work on its permitting process to have it streamlined whereby permits for several programs can be applied for simultaneously.  They are also working on new technical manuals for compliance. 


Government and Community Relations and Linden Economic Development Corporation.  Alex Lospinoso of the LEDC was pleased to report that there would be several groundbreaking ceremonies before the end of the month; one on May 24th and another on May 30th.  Both involve residential developments with retail on the first floor.  On May 31st, the long awaited Super Walmart groundbreaking will occur.  Mr. Lospinoso was also pleased to report that there appears to be a new owner coming into the Pathmark with a closing scheduled for June 7th.  On the Stiles/Route 1 & 9 location, there is interest by a storage facility who will also share the property with a Wawa and a hotel with a liquor license.  In the Bayway area a new business was will open in June that purchases fixed office furniture for resale.  On June 21st the City will be holding an open public meeting for presentation of its Master Plan.  Linden is one of the few cities that will provide public access to the deliberation of its Master Plan.


Membership.  1st Vice President June Lazaro reported that the Linden Business Guide was available for one and all.


There being no further matters, the meeting was adjourned.  The next meeting will be June 19, 2018 at 8 am at The Hampton Inn.


                                                                        Respectfully submitted,




                                                                        James K. Estabrook, Esq., Secretary